Quitting my job!

by Astrid Rangel

Balancing finances with academics is challenging. Setting your priorities puts it all into perspective.

Balancing finances with academics is challenging. Setting your priorities puts it all into perspective.

Monday, April 13, 2015 was my last day of work! Quitting was one of the hardest things I have done this semester. I had been working for six months, but I decided to quit my job for the sake of school. See, I never thought things would get this challenging.

People have asked me why I decided to quit, making comments from, “Oh, so, you can’t take the pressure” to “You have a good head on your shoulders.” Yet to me it feels nothing like those two. When they asked me “Why are you quitting your job?” I didn’t even have to think about it. Here’s why: I got a job because I am putting myself through college. So the reason for my job is school. Now, since I started working, it became kind of one of my main things to do, yet it isn’t. School should be my priority. So I made the decision so quit my job because if my school work is not up to where it needs to be or where I want it to be, then there is no use in me having a job.

I know there is so much I want to do with my life, not just work for the rest of my life in a minimum-wage job. I have dreams and aspirations. I feel like sometimes people get caught up with the money they are getting week by week. I don’t want to get caught up in that, and I don’t think anyone else should. Once you complete your education, yes, get caught up in the money doing what you love, but right now it is not the thing for me.

I will finish this semester and try to get my grades where they should be, because I know I can do so much better than I am doing. If you are going through something similar, all I can tell you is to take a step back. Look at your situation and remind yourself why you started all of this in the first place. Go back to who you want to be and how you are going to get there.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I loved the money and all, but I love my future more. Also, I will go back to my job next semester because I do need the money. Yet, I’ll be okay for now and I am sure you will be too.

On another note, SCHOOL IS ALMOST OVER, BOBCATS. I wish you all luck on your final tests and finals.

Stay awesome, Bobcats. Much love!❤

 

[photo by Mary Crandall/flickr.com]

Leave a Reply

