Dream job for the day

by Nicholas Laughlin

One of my favorite things about Texas State is the location. We are a quick 30-minute drive to Austin, and about 45 minutes to San Antonio (all depending on traffic, of course). With that, there are so many opportunities for me as a broadcast journalism major, just north and south of our campus.Processed with VSCOcam with b3 preset

I am currently enrolled in Careers In Media. For this class, I am required to do a job shadow. This was something I was really excited about because I have always wanted to see a journalist in his or her element. I am a huge fan of KUT, The Texas Tribune, and most Austin media (television and other news outlets). I decided to go out on a limb and e-mail KUT about a chance to job shadow with someone in the newsroom. After a couple of weeks of waiting, I got an e-mail from the “Morning Edition” host, Jennifer Stayton, who was excited for me to come down to the station and follow her for the day.

I was at KUT almost all day. I arrived at 8 a.m. to sit in on the first hour of “Morning Edition,” then attended the 9 a.m. news meeting. After that I got to tour the studio, which is relatively new and very nice; listen in on “Texas Standard,” a program that broadcasts all over the state; and go out into the field with a reporter.

I was nervous, of course, because I wasn’t actually sure what I was getting into. Once I sat in the studio and watched Ms. Stayton anchor the news, I realized it was something I could see myself doing. Everyone I met was extremely nice and wanted me get the most out of my experience. I got to take part in a lot of different aspects of KUT.

I learned a lot of this experience. It was an awesome opportunity to get to be a broadcast journalist for the day. In the six hours I was there, I learned a lot about the field of radio journalism, and I am so glad that I had the opportunity to do so!

Leave a Reply

