All I do is study

by Nicholas Laughlin

Since starting college, I have really learned the importance of studying. In high school, I could look over my notes and I would be fine for a test, but I have found out that in college it is not that easy. The tests I have taken so far cover the material from lectures, but also make you use critical thinking. It is not all about memorization, at least not in my classes. With finals coming up in a couple of weeks, my professors have already started assigning study guides for us to complete.

Sometimes getting off campus and going to a place like Wake the Dead Coffee House is a great way to re-focus your brain.

Sometimes getting off campus and going to a place like Wake the Dead Coffee House is a great way to re-focus your brain.

Finding a place to study can be the hardest part to studying. For myself, I need a place that is mellow and without too much commotion happening. I love studying in the Alkek Library. My favorite spots are on the quiet floors, in front of the windows that look south onto downtown San Marcos. The Honors Coffee Forum in Lampasas (next to Old Main) is another great spot. They have coffee there, as well as comfortable couches to use. I also like to get off of campus and make myself at home at a coffee shop. My two favorites are Mochas and Javas and Wake The Dead. Both have great coffee and sweets, and a nice, quiet place to study.

Once classes resume from Thanksgiving break, I will be using all of these places to study. It is nerve-wracking to think about taking my first college finals. It is going to be interesting to see how different college finals are compared to high school finals. I can not believe that it has already been a semester. Time really does fly.

Leave a Reply

